Days of Importance

As a Jewish person, I grew up with a lot of holidays, or Holy Days. The Hebrew calendar is peppered with them and there was always a joke that we could find some reason not to go to school on any given day. I still went. I still go to work. I’m not the holiest of people after all.

As a person who is now a part of the greater alphabet community, I am discovering all these new days of celebration or remembrance or visibility and I worry that there will come a point where the days become so ubiquitous that they begin to lose their significance.

I don’t worry too much, as I am not the holiest of people and still go to work on them. Usually the recognition of the day is accompanied by some kind of large public gathering. And I simply cannot abide large public gatherings.

I’m not much for group anything unless I have some measure of control over the group. Parades and rallies kind of freak me out. Just too many unknown bodies in violation of my personal space. I did Time Square on New Year’s Eve a bunch of years ago and it was both exciting and highly unpleasant. That’s how I tend to describe any large gathering of interest or note.

So chances are you won’t find me at a rally or vigil or parade. It doesn’t mean I don’t support the cause, but that I am not at all comfortable being  in the crowd.

And I do recognize these days of importance as being important. At the same time, what does a day like today, the IDAHOBIT, mean, really? Are there days against racism? Days against Antisemitism? (I would think there would have to be given the relative number of days on the Hebrew calendar…room for one more, honey). Is every day of the year a day of importance for some group? At that point, do the people the days are meant to affect, the people at the top of the cultural/social/political power structure, even take notice?

Who are these days meant to impact and are they having the desired effect?

I wonder if anyone has ever done a study…

Leave a Reply

